Turn Off Display Cart After Adding a Zen Cart Product

Streamline your customers shopping experience by turning off the display of the shopping cart after a product is added. Instead a message will appear that says “Successfully added Product to the cart …”. Making your customers shopping experience optimal is essential to good customer conversion. Sometimes it can be tedious for a customers to be taken to the shopping cart page after they add an item to cart, especially if they are adding a high number of products. This step by step tutorial will show you how to change this native zen cart behaviour which takes a customers to the shopping cart page after each click of the add to cart button.

Please note that I do not recommend customizing your zen cart in this way unless you have a very clear route to checkout on your site, preferably a “go to checkout” button in a very visible place in the header of your site. If you do not have this very visible “go to checkout” button or link, your customers could be confused and not be able to find their way to the checkout page.

This tutorial features the Aberdeen Neutral free zen cart template by Picaflor Azul. Picaflor Azul specializes in free and premade templates. Templates are an excellent way of adding a new, professional looking design to your online store in minutes. If you want to use it for your zen cart project you can download it for free here.

Free Zen Cart Template Aberdeen Neutral

zen cart easy help tutorials

Log into your zen cart admin and go to Configuration -> My Store.

zen cart easy help tutorials

Click on “Display Cart After Adding Product”, select “false”, and click on the “update” button.

zen cart easy help tutorials

If you need help customizing your zen cart web site, or would like a great custom design, please contact us for a quote.